new & interesting places for your GPS

New California DMV Law Effective 1/1/2014

 

- Driving without Driver license: $ 214
- After 10 days of changing address without Notifying DMV $ 214
- Driving without car insurance & having car accident:
$ 796 with license suspension for 4 years
- Run Red Light: $ 533
- Run over 2 Yellow Double solid Lane: $ 425
- Forbidden U-Turn: $ 284
- Exceeding Speed Limit (from 16-25 miles): $ 338
- Driving too slow: $ 328
- Do not stop at Stop Sign: $ 284
- Over pass Transportation Bus when light flashing: $ 675
- Using hand phone while driving (first time): $ 160
- Parking in Bus reserved Area: $ 976
- Do Not Turn light on when it is dark (30 mins): $ 382
- Cover to Block sun while Driving Car: $ 178
- No Seat Belt while Driving: $ 160
- Kids without Seat Belt or Car Seat by law: $ 436
- Wear head set on both ears while driving: $ 178
All of the above tickets require "Traffic Violator Class". After completing class, record will be kept for 18 months

--
lotus, Nuvi 2595LMT

~

In reality - those most likely to be ticketed will be least likely to pay... and will drive anyway...

--
*Keith* MacBook Pro *wifi iPad(2012) w/BadElf GPS & iPhone5 + Navigon*

Agree

kch50428 wrote:

In reality - those most likely to be ticketed will be least likely to pay... and will drive anyway...

How often do we read stories about someone driving with umpteen license suspensions.

--
Bob: My toys: Nüvi 1390T, Droid X2, Nook Color (rooted), Motorola Xoom, Kindle 2, a Yo-Yo and a Slinky. Gotta have toys.

Eighteen

Eighteen excellent reasons NOT to live in California or even pass thru it!

Fred

hey..

you gotta do what ya gotta do.

They have to raise..

...money someway. This is it.

--
It is impossible to rightly govern a nation without God and the Bible. ----George Washington

Raising Money

It's not that they don't have some of the highest State taxes in the Nation. You could say they're diversified - they work on inventing new "taxes" & raising old ones.

Fred

dtlotus wrote: - Driving too

dtlotus wrote:

- Driving too slow: $ 328
- Cover to Block sun while Driving Car: $ 178

what is considered to be "too slow" in CA? I understand it when there is a posted minimal speed but what if there is no such sign posted?
and the second one - would this apply to using visors?

Too slow?

juicymango wrote:
dtlotus wrote:

- Driving too slow: $ 328
- Cover to Block sun while Driving Car: $ 178

what is considered to be "too slow" in CA? I understand it when there is a posted minimal speed but what if there is no such sign posted?
and the second one - would this apply to using visors?

When we lived there, "too slow" was less than 10 MPH over the speed limit smile

--
Nuvi 2460

Cover while driving?

OK Kali peeps, what is this?

--
Cain versus Unable 2012

Too Slow is ?

I thought too slow was a complete standstill on the 405 during rush hour. Does rush hour still last all day?

But then again that's probably when the morning makeup gets applied and text messages get answered.

it will depend

"Too slow" as everything else will depend on need for money. If state will need money then it will send police on streets and they will make "too slow" rules as they go. After all, who will say "stop" when they will ticket criminals, right?

If these fines ....

Save even ONE child, it will be worth it. wink

Am I the only one?

Am I the only one that finds it interesting that "parking in bus reserved area" is the most heinous violation and therefore worthy of the highest fine on the list?

Yes, I noticed. AND it is

Yes, I noticed. AND it is $300 more than passing a school bus when they are loading and unloading. I Guess it's NOT about the children after all.

buses

jonny5 wrote:

Am I the only one that finds it interesting that "parking in bus reserved area" is the most heinous violation and therefore worthy of the highest fine on the list?

Utah was considering a law to give mass transit buses the right of way when they want to go after a bus stop.

Buses

In Spokane, the buses do have the right away when leaving the curb. They turn on the left blinker and pull out. In cases going to court the judges ruled that the oncoming motorist must yield.

--
1490LMT 1450LMT 295w

Why?

Why is it that children MUST be seat-belted in a car but not on a school bus? Are they safer? Do the seat backs have airbags that encase the kids when an accident occurs?

The whole approach to seat belt laws seems to be that parents are terrible drivers while school bus drivers never get in accidents.

As Mr. Spock would say: It's not logical.

School buses

KenSny wrote:

Why is it that children MUST be seat-belted in a car but not on a school bus? Are they safer? ..

In discussions with the school board, both sides of the issue have good points.

--
1490LMT 1450LMT 295w

dtlotus wrote: - Driving

dtlotus wrote:

- Driving without Driver license: $ 214

- Driving too slow: $ 328

Sounds like the state will be making a lot of money from this on 101 in Silicon Valley or I-405 in LA. Everyone is driving "too slow!" And they always say that just because everyone else doing it does not make it an excuse to get out of a ticket.

Quote:

- Cover to Block sun while Driving Car: $ 178

What is a cover for sun? Visor?

New California DMV Law Effective 1/1/2014

I've done a search with google and found nothing about prices except the one on this site. I think it's a bunch of crap.

I agree

hapnet wrote:

I've done a search with google and found nothing about prices except the one on this site. I think it's a bunch of crap.

All I could find was from the actual CA DMV website:

https://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/newsrel/newsrel13/2013_41.htm

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
December 23, 2013

DMV Reminds Motorists of New 2014 Laws

SACRAMENTO — With 2014 just around the corner, the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is reminding motorists of some of the new laws that will become effective in the new year. The following laws go into effect on January 1, 2014, unless otherwise noted.

Bicycles: Passing Distance. AB 1371 (Bradford), known as the Three Feet for Safety Act, will require a motor vehicle driver passing a bicycle that is proceeding in the same direction to pass with no less than 3 feet between any part of the vehicle and any part of the bicycle or driver. When three feet is not possible, the motor vehicle must slow to a reasonable and prudent speed and only pass when no danger is present to the bicyclist. Failing to do so can incur a fine, regardless of a collision or not. This law will take effect September 16, 2014.

Clean Air Vehicle Decals / “HOV Stickers.” AB 266 (Yee) and SB 286 (Blumenfield), together extend sunset dates for low emission, zero emission vehicles to operate in high occupancy vehicle lanes (HOV) without meeting occupancy requirements to January 1, 2019.

Commercial Driver’s License. AB 1047 (Linder) will allow the DMV to conduct the commercial drive test for the holder of an out–of–state commercial learner’s permit. The department would electronically transfer the information to the motor vehicle department in the applicant’s state of residence. AB 1047 also modifies the license class definitions to require a driver operating a bus weighing more than 26,000 pounds to hold a commercial Class B license and a driver operating a bus weighing 26,000 pounds or less to hold a commercial Class C license.

DMV Vehicle Registration Pilot Program. SB 806 (Hueso) authorizes DMV to establish a pilot program to evaluate the use of alternatives to stickers, tabs, license plates, and registration cards, subject to certain requirements. It will also enable the DMV to experiment with electronic license plates, as well as facilitate DMV’s ability to explore cost–effective alternatives to California’s traditional metal license plate, plastic–coated registration stickers, and paper registration cards.

Registration and Vehicle Transfers Between Family Members. AB 443 (Lowenthal) prohibits the transfer of ownership of a vehicle to a relative or a revocable living trust until all parking or toll–violation fines and penalties reported to the DMV are paid by the transferee.

Teen Drivers. SB 194 (Galgiani) will prohibit a person who is under 18 years of age from using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send, or read a text–based communication while driving, even if it is equipped with a hands–free device.

Veterans License Plates. AB 244 (Bonilla) Requires the California Department of Veterans Affairs (CalVet) to sponsor a veterans’ special interest license plate and requires the DMV to issue the veterans’ plate if CalVet meets the current statutory requirements. This law creates, in addition to the current Honoring Veterans design of the Veteran’s Organization Plate, a new program to reissue the Veteran design that was issued prior to January 1, 2010. These plates are available to all vehicle owners. The Department of Veterans Affairs must secure 7,500 pre–paid applications in order for the department to implement this plate program.

Additionally, the Department of Motor Vehicles will begin the process of implementing AB 60 (Alejo)—the new law requiring DMV to issue a driver license to an applicant who is unable to submit satisfactory proof that he/she is legally present in the Unites States —by drafting new regulations and preparing field offices to process new applications. The new law becomes operative by January 1, 2015. The applicant will be required to meet all other driver license qualifications.

For complete information on chaptered bills enacted in 2013, please refer to the Legislative Counsel website at www.LegInfo.ca.gov.

--
. Nuvi 2460LMT, Zumo 550, Garmin preloaded into my Jeep, Beltronics Pro 500 radar detector with GPS built in, includes RLC info. Uconnect 430N (Garmin) built into my Jeep. .

sponsored links



Navigation



User login

Leave this blank! This field helps block spambots.

poi factory



Who's online

There are currently 21 users and 62 guests online.

Online users

  • rookie8155
  • berzokmb
  • CraigW
  • cc194217
  • eastcentralpc@y...
  • alandb
  • Pillowcase
  • hojo0071
  • java007
  • pfhays