Pennsylvania has raised fees and fines for several traffic offenses.
Fines, fees and penalties
Pennsylvania will levy a surcharge on fines, fees and penalties for driving offenses under the new transportation plan. Increases will touch everything from fines for passing a stopped school bus to fines for driving under the influence of alcohol.
- The surcharge for passing a bus increases from $50 to $75.
- The surcharge for driving under the influence goes from $50 to $75 for first offense; $100 to $150 for second offense; $200 to $300 for third offense; and $300 to $450 for fourth offense.
- The surcharge for exceeding the posted weight limit on a bridge goes from $150 to $225.
- The surcharge for speeding 6 to 15 mpg above the limit increases from $30 to $45; speeding 16 to 25 mph above the limit goes from $40 to $60; speeding more than 26 mph above the limit goes from $50 to $75.
- The fine for going through a red light increases from $25 to $150. The actual increase is closer to $50, because the bill eliminates a series of surcharges that are now collected.
- The fine for evading tolls ranges from $100 to $3,000 for a first offense, and $6,500 for a second offense.
- The transportation bill also allows motorists caught driving without insurance to pay a $500 fee to avoid having their vehicle’s registration suspended for three months.
Full article at http://www.meadvilletribune.com/local/x1353072789/Fines-fees...
That fits in with the increased taxes on fuel.
These increases are aggressive. More states to follow, monkey see, monkey do.
terms | privacy | contactCopyright © 2006-2021