Catholic Basilicas in the US

tomkovacic's picture

Login or register to download files

Last updated 02/15/2009

Raw file: Basilicas.csv (5.78 KB)

Includes 62 locations in the following areas:

  • United States: AL, AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, IA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, MO, NC, ND, NJ, NM, NY, OH, PA, TX, VA, WI
  • some may be in: DC, MS, ON, RI (near a border)

Catholic Basilicas are divided into classes, major ("greater"), and minor basilicas. The four major basilicas are all located in Rome. There are approximately 1500 minor basilicas located on all continents. 62 basilicas are located in the US. The Basilica of Saint Mary in Minneapolis became the first Basilica in the US in 1926, by Pope Pius XI.